An Official Farewell

41903249

It’s been a little over a year since the blog started, and several years since I started watching anime as a non-casual. This post is to officially close the blog, which is something I’ve been considering for a while now. Discussing anime is still fun. However, I feel that I’ve learned just about as much as there is to learn from the medium, without hitting significant diminishing returns in one’s time investment. The fun in and of itself is no longer quite there either, but it was fun while it lasted.

On towards new things! I’ve been meaning to improve my knowledge on all mediums in general (as of this moment, films and books) and not just anime, so I’ll be spending more time doing that. I’ve also been accepted at Harvard for grad school, so I’ll be placing the majority of my time in the future pursuing academics and related interests.

Where can you still find me? Drop a comment anytime on my MyAnimeList profile; I also post fairly regularly in the Quiet Discourse club, which I personally believe to have such a perfect format for these editorial-type thingies anyways. So, that’s where I’ll be at. Cheerio!

16 comments

  1. I’m sorry to see you stop blogging. It was fun to read your reviews while they lasted and I hope to be in touch with you in discussing fun things!

    Btw, you might want to fix the QD link on the [url].

    1. Oh, right. thankies

  2. I really enjoyed your posts, so it’s a shame to see you go. At the same time you’re moving onto a new phase of your academic life, so I wish you luck! I can relate to your desire to not just focus on anime and wanting to improve your knowledge on other mediums. Anyway, see you around!

    1. Thanks for sticking by! I truly value (valued?) your feedback on my posts. Yeah, there’s so much potential in art in general that it’d be a shame to pidgeon-hole oneself into a single medium. I’ve been watching so many great films lately I’m wondering why I hadn’t done this sooner.

      Oh, and I’ll definitely still drop by your blog and some of the other cool ones. There are few that are consistently interesting and/or funny and engaging. No way will I stop browsing them!

  3. I’m sorry to hear you’re leaving, I enjoyed your posts. Hope your academic interests go well!

    1. I appreciate it so much. And I do too! :)

  4. mahoganycow · · Reply

    I’m kind of a lurker by nature and never really said much, but I’ve enjoyed reading your musings on cartoons and other subjects for a while now, so the least I can do is leave my best wishes. Harvard? Damn, dude, that’s impressive. Hopefully your academic pursuits take you wherever it is you want to go.

    1. Thanks so much. Simply having a reader consistently follow his posts would boost any blogger’s morale. Feel free to have a chat anytime on my MAL profile if you have something you want to talk about. I know I’ll be doing it to you! (as if I don’t already)

  5. Now that I think about it, who’s going to be taking over the duties of looking for the best reviewers on MAL? :(

    1. Oh, uh, that’s a good point. Would you like to do it? Not that there’s an official throne for only one “official” list, but it’d be great if at least one person in the world would have something like it. I’ve pretty much lost interest in maintaining it despite the low upkeep lol. Having so many MAL words, reviews in general are no longer interesting to me at the moment.

      1. Ugh, too much responsibility for me. That means I have to suffer through the hundreds of dumb reviews that come off on a daily basis. Maybe someone at QD can make a MAL club to showcase these reviewers.

      2. If someone wants to. But if no one’s willing, I guess it’ll be abandoned just like all the other good but unrealized things in anime. :[ (for example a better MAL website)

  6. superzarop · · Reply

    It’s sad to see you leave; your posts are a blast to read. Do you still maintain your MyMovieList thingie now that you’ll be watching more of those? I find your taste in movies more agreeable than most other lists.

    1. Yup. Sorry if it takes a while to load. The javascript sorting library I’m using is retardedly slow for huge tables, but I haven’t had the time to find a better one. Also you can ignore the headers at the top hehe. I’m about 60% complete in the making of a personal website (design, coding, format), and the remaining is simply filling in the webpages with content.

  7. Oh, I didn’t notice this until now! I don’t think I ever commented here, but I did read the site from time to time.

    Hope we’ll see you around somewhere!

    1. Ah, I didn’t know you read my blog. :O Thanks for doing so! Yeah, I’ll definitely still be around.

Reply

