Summer 2013 Musings

This is a little late now that a few shows have already started airing, but it can’t be helped! These are the shows I’ll be watching and my thoughts and predictions for how they’ll turn out. Ranked by my expectations.

14. Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya

Studio: Silver Link

sample-29be33fcb07682aa0e3bdfd680926b6b

A spinoff of one of the most terrible yet popular shows of all time? Gee, this’ll be good. I’m happy it’s not Studio DEEN that’s putting their spin on the source material, but mahou shoujos and Fate characters don’t exactly spell out what I have in mind to begin with. I’m really only picking the show up to see what the premiere will be like.

Predicted Score: Awful (3/10)

13. Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou

Studio: Gonzo

[HorribleSubs] Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou - 01 [720p].mkv_00:01:14_07-04-13

One of the gimmicky shows of the season. But who cares, I like seeing new ideas once in a while, however stale the content usually becomes. Mainly checking this out for the premiere. Save for that, I don’t see the mongrel straight man plus sadist girl being a dynamic that’ll stay fresh throughout its duration.

Predicted Score: Awful (3/10)

12. Free!

Studio: Kyoto Animation

[HorribleSubs] Free! - 01 [720p].mkv_00:20:32_07-04-13

KyoAni. And the fujoshi market. Well, I guess everyone’s gotta pay their bills somehow. Hopefully this can fund better shows in the future? Heck man, I have no words for this direction. To be fair, KyoAni has always been pandering, and all they’ve down now is orient themselves toward a different demographic. Now I won’t debate the complex and irrevocably deep merits of moe versus blatant sex appeal, but it’s interesting to see KyoAni become, well, less subtle. Yet, for some odd reason I can only be excited with how this masterpiece of a work will show itself. Hot swimming seamen will either be a classic that revolutionizes the anime world or be another forgettable experience that KyoAni tries to shamelessly sweep under the rug. (Probably the latter.)

Predicted Score: Bad (4/10)

11. Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

Studio: Silver Link

Watashi ga Motenai no Wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui!

I once picked up the manga a long time ago. The self-depecrating humor got old real quick, and my attention span toward the series immediately vanished. This may also be an easy drop, depending on how well Silver Link plays its jokes. Most people seem to enjoy Watamote’s humor more than I do, and I’ve certainly seen bad manga get good adaptations before, so this may be better than I expect it will turn out.

Predicted Score: Bad (4/10)

10. Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu

Studio: Gainax

[Vivid] Stella Jogakuin Koutouka C3-bu - PV [FC9D5B05].mkv_00:00:10_07-04-13

It’s Gainax, it has cute girls, it has a soft palette, it has guns, and the resemblances to Girls und Panzer are uncanny. Watching for Gainax, and probably going to drop unless the comedy makes it shine.

Predicted Score: Bad (4/10)

9. Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai: Megami-hen

Studio: Manglobe

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai - 08 - Large 04

Having watched the last two seasons, I can certainly say that they’ve been entertaining watches, particularly with Keima’s antics and aversions to two-bit characters (despite himself kind of being one). The plot is certainly not original, nor is the parody comedy all that engrossing. I’ve made complaints about its lack of story development before, and when that actually showed up in the second season, I was even less impressed with the show. I’ll hope this one stays as entertaining as it usually it is when it doesn’t take itself seriously, but like Hayate no Gotoku, I’m starting to expect that the content will sooner or later lose its appeal.

Predicted Score: Bad (4/10)

8. Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

Studio: Madhouse

447657190_orig

I have mixed opinions about the premise, but I do sorely miss watching a mystery anime. Madhouse seals the deal here, not that they’ve been the most consistent in dishing out solid works (Photokano, cough cough). Also, those character designs are as vapid as Higurashi’s, jeez.

Predicted Score: Okay (5/10)

7. Danganronpa – The Animation

Studio: Lerche

20121206_danganronpa02

I know nothing of the visual novel it’s based on, so I’ll just go off the premise and posterwork. The synopsis honestly sounds pretty stupid, especially when it’s trying to be a horror/mystery, and Lerche doesn’t have a solid reputation for anything save for Carnival Phantasm (a forgettable piece). However, with a huge cast, I’m curious how they’ll play the archetypes and execute some of the mystery elements. This could be Another levels of retardation, but I’ll be optimistic particularly because of its intriguing character artwork.

Predicted Score: Okay (5/10)

6. Servant x Service

Studio: A-1 Pictures

[HorribleSubs] Servant x Service - 01 [720p].mkv_00:01:16_07-04-13

Besides the OTP title being as stupid as Hot x Cold Water, the premise looks quite promising. You don’t see very many slices of life about civil servants, and since it’s by the same author as Working!!, I can probably expect the same type of humor. Mai Nakahara already makes this a must-watch, however much I dislike A-1 Pictures.

Predicted Score: Okay (5/10)

5. Choujigen Game Neptune: The Animation

Studio: David Production

Konachan.com - 141958 sample

I know nothing of the franchise. That said, reading just the premise and seeing cute little girls, I’m not sure how serious this video game adaptation can get. Its source material carries off in a Visual Novel style, and so I can probably expect the works from it—a little comedy, lots of action, and fun scripted dialogue. I’ve enjoyed David Production’s take on the JoJo manga, particularly in how closely it follows the idiosyncrasies in JoJo’s comic visuals. Also, having a friend with similar tastes and who adores this franchise to death, I’ll be optimistic and have relatively high expectations.

Predicted Score: Good (6/10)

4. Gatchaman Crowds

Studio: Tatsunoko Production

k-bigpic

I don’t know much about the Gatchaman series, but it’s nice to see a reputable studio revive an old work. Really, what first caught my eye about this show has been its slick (maybe oily?) watercolored textures. The premise also has quite the potential. What’s not to love about a girl who “has a passion for stationery goods, and gets extremely excited when it comes to different models of pens and scissors”?? That’s immediate waifu material.

Predicted Score: Good (6/10)

3. Uchouten Kazoku

Studio: PA Works

UchotenKazoku_zpsd441780c

With the art style done by the mangaka Kouji Kumeta (most known for Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei) and the source material written by Tomohiko Morimi (most known for The Tatami Galaxy), you just know that this series will be good. I’m not sure if Kumeta has had any influence on the anime script itself, but I can certainly see this duo really complementing each other’s signature styles. PA works is the odd one in this trio, but, uh, let’s try to forget that guy exists.

Predicted Score: Good (6/10)

2. Genshiken Nidaime

Studio: Production IG

GENSHIKEN-NIDAIME

I’ve stated my love for this series already, and it looks like this new season will largely keep that same charm. The new ensemble offers a lot of potential, and I certainly don’t mind the upgrade in production values. Let’s hope Production IG knows what to do with the source material.

Predicted Score: Great (7/10)

1. Monogatari Series: Second Season

Studio: SHAFT

Nisemonogatari-06-1024x576

SHAFT has always been my favorite studio, not because they warrant the most critical value or “depth”, but because of how well they cleverly integrate visuals into the screenplay. Shinbo always makes his signature style stand out—for good or bad intents—and it’s these clever audiovisual techniques that make me watch anime. If I wanted a consistent source of good writing in my media, then I’d stick to reading classic novels; anime isn’t exactly my go-to place for solid storytelling. I’ve also yet to finish my quest of completing all SHAFT titles, but Monogatari has so far been my favorite series of them all (even more so than Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei). The work’s art style has always been a breath of fresh air in stagnating moe artwork these days, and Nisio Isin serves the canny style with nimble and resourceful dialogue. Sure, it can be seen as gimmicky at times, but Monogatari has always suited its purpose for me well: entertainment.

Predicted Score: Excellent (8/10)

Overall

This is shaping up to be a really great season. It’s not often I see this many shows with solid potential, especially when my favorite this year has been Minami-ke Tadaima, and that was at a measly (6/10). Maybe I’ve just been a cheapskate with my ratings this year when the only two shows I scored above a 5 have been JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure and Minami-ke Tadaima. Well, with an ample lineup of good shows, I look forward to how all these premieres will turn out.

4 comments

  1. Other than Free not being #1 on that list, my expectations for this season looked pretty similar. Gatchaman Crowds and Uchouten Kazoku are my two most anticipated titles due to the staff working behind them. Also hoping that Genshiken and the Shaft-gatari don’t fall victim to the sequel syndrome as some of their predecessors (lol Nise) were quite incredible.

    Hoping that the summer season will be the beacon of hope for 2013, as I’ve also found this year hasn’t produced a whole lot of quality titles.

    1. Yup, I’m really looking forward to those two in particular. The more I read about Gatchaman Crowds, the more I can’t wait its arrival; it reminds me most of Durarara!!, in its setting and eccentricity. Servant x Service may also be my replacement for Maou-sama as a marginal mundane-worker satire (without the needless harem portions), although I haven’t watched its premiere just yet. I’m crossing my fingers in hope that my optimism for the season will prove true.

  2. GaryFrost · · Reply

    Gatchaman Crowds (because Mononoke director), Uchouten, TWGOK Megami-hen, and Hyperdimension Neptunia are the ones I’m most looking forwards to.

    1. Good choices. I’m curious how good or bad Neptunia is going to be. Working on a hit series like Jojo and now moving onto Neptunia is an interesting change of pace.

Reply

